Posted by: mmstanger | June 3, 2010

Do Not Worry About What You Will Wear

luke choosing clothesToday, I am grateful for how God reminds me of the truth of his Word.  For example, many of us are quite familiar with Matthew 6:25-33:

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life…what you will wear. Is not life more than food and the body more than clothing?…Why are you anxious about clothes? Learn from the way the wild flowers grow. They do not work or spin.

But I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was clothed like one of them. If God so clothes the grass of the field, which grows today and is thrown into the oven tomorrow, will he not much more provide for you, O you of little faith?…So do not worry and say, … ‘What are we to wear?…Your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. But seek first the kingdom (of God) and his righteousness, and all these things will be given you besides.”

I know I am.  And, over the past few days, I have become even more aware of the truths of it.

Just as unexpected car repairs and other challenges threw our budget way off kilter, bags of clothing for two of our children were offered to us.  A friend from Our Lady Queen of Saints, the homeschooling co-op we belong to, offered hand-me-downs for Nina.  Then, both my sister and my sister-in-law showed up at Nina’s birthday the other day with clothes from their own families and their friends’ to pass along for both Nina and Baby-to-Be.  As I sort through these clothes and look forward to the ones that my OLQOS friend is planning to give us, I am confident that not only will we be in need of little to nothing to outfit Nina and the new baby in the upcoming year, but that we will also have leftovers to share with others.  What a blessing!

Amazing how God’s “ancient” Word continues to speak in very present ways.  I am so grateful for the work others let Him do through Him to make His Word come alive with such practical reminders.  I also pray that I hear and obey His call to do likewise.

As a steward of time, talent, goods and, of course, money, I ask God to continue working on my heart to give me a disciplined mind and a generous spirit.  I pray that He will help me to avoid hoarding and worry, choosing instead to always share and trust.  His reminders that this is what He wishes for me are constant!  Today, I am filled with gratitude as I listen to them.

What are your grateful for today?  Link up at Thankful Thursday at Grace Alone to share with others.  And, if God’s Word came alive for you in some obvious way this past week, please share your story with us in a comment below.  We love to hear such inspiration!

Responses

  1. The Lord is good to provide when we need it.

  2. God always provides our needs.

  3. […] Carolyn @ Wings of Eagles21. Mary22. Training Happy Hearts (acting like animals)23. Wonder and Will (God’s Word coming alive with practical remidners)24. Chelsey ~ Modesty25. Melanie26. ~Simple Pleasures~27. Linda@bytheway28. Chris29. Debbie @The Way […]

  4. […] comes to my mind as, lately, I have been sorting bags of clothes that recently got handed down to us for Baby Jack and Nina, as well as rooting around the various places we had outgrown and yet-to-be-grown into clothing […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

