Posted by: mmstanger | February 3, 2010

Works for Me Wedenesday: Blogging in a Box

What Happend When Blogging IS NOT in a Box

Yikes! This is what can when blogging isn't in a box...

This week at We Are THAT Family, the Works for Me Wednesday theme is “tips on blogging”.  In a sentence, my tip is that, blogging, I have found, truly needs to have its own little figurative box with a defined place in your home and life or physical (see left) and mental disarray is bound to follow!

 Now, for the longer explanation: 

If you asked me a couple years ago about blogs, I would have laughed.  In fact, that is exactly what I did when my husband mentioned the idea of blogging to me.  He thought it might be a fun thing to try together as a way to revive mutual interests, at best, or as a way for me to maintain a personal, somewhat creative outlet, at the very least.  I thought it was a ridiculous idea.  Time to write?  Little to nil.  Content to write about?  Please.  My days of newsworthy adventures and travel had ended with marriage, home ownership and children.  Purpose?  I could think of none…

 Yet, a mere two years later, I am finding myself unexpectedly addicted to blogging.  For, a while back, I gave in and started blogging.  I did so with caution and a mind for temperance.  And, quickly, I found blogging filled in some holes that had been getting deeper and deeper in my life.  Since husband, home and children – the things I had prayed for for years – had become realities in my life, personal interests and time had become things of the past.   I had stopped journaling, scrapbooking, communing with other adults for any length of time…  I had also stopped taking time for myself and my own thought space.  And, although, I didn’t see any of this as all that problematic, I did miss bits and pieces of “the old me” at times.  So, somehow, blogging started to help fill little voids and reconcile the old me with the new one.

 But, perhaps, it did so too well.  For, in the past few weeks, I have found that blogging has begun to usurp far too much of my time and focus.  These days, instead of jumping online for mere few minutes here and there to check emails when the kids are busy with an activity and spending longer amounts of time on the computer to deal with work reports, home stuff, etc. when they are asleep or happy with Daddy at home, as I used to, I now find myself overlooking need-to’s and should-to’s in order to attend to the want-to of blogging and checking out other’s blogs.  Worse, I somehow excuse myself for this quite often by saying I am learning, getting ideas for housekeeping and homeschooling, blah, blah, blah…

 But, God knows better!  And, he told me so the other day.  When doing one of my daily readings, I was hit by the idea of testing spirits to see if they are of God or of the other side.  Now, I know neither a blog nor a computer is a spirit, but somehow the true Spirit spoke to me about all this.  What I think I heard Him say is that blogging can be good, fun, helpful, even productive, so long as it is kept in check.  My primary call is to use my gifts and talents to serve God’s kingdom, and, right now, that call is mainly to serve through Wifedom, Mommihood and Homekeeping.  Blogging, when a part of all that, is fine, but when it begins to compete with, instead of complement, these roles in my life, it needs to be put in check.

So, after my chat with God, I have decided to re-balance how I use my time in order to better answer my call as I hear it.   In doing so, I have begun to put blogging in a box, so to speak.  Once a day, if I get up in time, complete my other morning tasks and am sure the kids are asleep or otherwise contented, or if I find a quiet moment later in the day when most of my duties have been attended to and the kids are happily immersed in something, I can take that box out, rifle through it freely for up to an hours or so and then put it back on its shelf, safe-and-sound until later.  Later in the day,  if I think of something that might best go into the blogging box, I can take a minute here or there to put it where it belongs.  But, otherwise, the box must stay on its own little figurative shelf until the next appointed time to take it out, so things don’t get too disorderly and out-of-whack around here.  moderation is the key to many things in life.  Blogging, as I see it, defintely needs its own box!

PLEASE NOTE:  For some unknown reason, if you click on the cetgories below, you will not be taken to related posts in this blog.  If you want those, you need to use the categories links in the right column.  Thanks and have a blessed day! 🙂

Responses

  1. This is so true. It’s easy for it to take over everything. Good luck in keeping balance.

    • Thanks. I will need the luck (and discipline!) I am headed over to check out your site now… Have a blessed day! 🙂

  2. I totally agree. This week I have tried to keep my laptop upstairs…it is very obvious when I take time to go check it. It has cut down on some of my screen time…and I also notice how fun it is to put longer stretches of time between checks because there are more updates and emails 🙂

    Nice blog!

    • I am employing similar ideas: We don’t have wireless that works in the house and it takes a while for my computer to start up. So, I am taking my computer to other rooms when I have work to do on it, so as not to be tempted to get online. And, I am shutting it down after each dedicated working or blogging session to discourage me from just running in to “do one thing” only to find myself happily distracted for far too long. With God’s grace and discipline it will work!

      And, thank you for the compliment on my blog. I am going to check out yours later today or tomorrow.

  3. The computer, whether it’s blogs, emails, facebook or news / funnies / You-Tube can so easily swallow so much of our time if we don’t keep it in check. Praying you get the balance right. But do keep blogging – I’m loving keeping up with you & your family’s activities each day – you’re a real inspiration!
    God Bless!

    • Thank you, Carolyn. I actually told Mike I was going to take a brief hiatus from blogging in order to focus more on organization, but I haven’t. I treasure the time to communicate with others– to think, write and share. I am just trying to keep it in balance. So, we can consider this our tea time together, my dear old friend, until such time we can share a cuppa together again…. Oh for that time. Sending love, hugs and prayers your way.

  4. This post really resonated with me. Thanks for sharing! I, too, go in waves of obsessively checking out blogs-then everything gets only 50% of my attention. You’ve encouraged me! Thanks!

    • You’re welcome. And, thank you for commenting. My children are now seeking more than 50% attention, so I guess I shoudl re-box the blog for the moment, but just wanted to say thanks, good luck seeking balance and be blessed!


Leave a Reply

Categories

