Posted by: mmstanger | October 28, 2009

Martianne’s Daybook

For Today

simple-woman-daybook-large

Outside my window… Darkness has fallen and the wind and rain are singing a gentle lullaby.

 I am thinking…  about how frustrated I was that my little NIna would not stay in her own bed to go to sleep – agian – yet how special it is to have her cuddled up warm and sweet, snoring in my lap.

 I am thankful for…  my extended family.  We are all often too busy to reach out to each other on a daily basis, but the love and support is ever present and always dependable. 

From the learning rooms… Making playdough and using it on our P-pumpkin mats from the Printable Place of Themes yahoogroup was so much fun today!

 From the kitchen… At lunchtime, we devoured healthy, homemae pancakes made with wheat pastry flour, eggs, almond milk and apples from our annual trip to Honeypot Hill.  Yum!

I am wearing…  a hand-me-down comfy, cotton blue with flowers dress from my sister Gina and a white cable cardigan that was Grammy’s – budget-friendly, kid-friendly and passed on with love.  Might not be so fashionable, but sure is warm!

 I am creating… new strategies for attacking the clutter in my home while still savoring the sweetness and dealing with the challenges of being at home with two toddlers.

I am going… to keep praying for focus and Spirit-inspired priorities.

I am reading… far too many things to list – saint stories with the kids, pumpkin and Halloween stories, books about Reggio and Montessori-inspired learning, books on kid’s yoga… Our library card is about maxed out!

I am hoping… that the kids sleep through the night tonight, so I can get some cleaning and organizing done. 

I am hearing. . . the steady breath of Nina asleep in my home, the buzz of the dehumidifier trying to keep the basement dry – a rare moment of time awake without a child awake with me.

 Around the house… things are looking better in our front entryway and living room, with my first round of decluttering there almost done, but – oh my! – the hallway is looking like a storage bin now, until Mike gets home from his business trip and I have time to bring things to the garage, yard sale pile, etc.

One of my favorite things… When Luke grasps my hand before I leave him for the night and says, “Momma, I love you.  Stay a long time.  A long minute…”

 A few plans for the rest of the week… Enjoy a Halloween night while teaching Dramakids tomorrow night, have fun carving pumkins with the extended family at Dad and my family birthday party Friday night and – yikes! – turn 39. Where does the time go??

Here is a picture for thought I am sharing… 

100_8351

We are thakful for Plato's Harvest and will miss it until it starts up again next spring.

Check out The Simple Woman’s Daybook for more folk’s simple daily thoughts…

Leave a Reply

Categories

