Posted by: mmstanger | July 27, 2009

Menu Mondays – Steamed Zucchini Bread

steamed zucchini breadDue to the summer heat, I can not bear to turn the oven on any more than I need to.  However, since we’re starting to find zucchini in our weekly CSA share, I wanted to make quick bread for the kids’ snack time.  What to do?  Think creatively, of course.

I figured if brown bread is steam-cooked in cans, why can’t quick bread be made in a veggie steamer-rice cooker?  A quick internet search later revealed a banana bread recipe that I adapted for zucchini.  Viola – a delicious snack in a cool (okay, simply not any hotter!) kitchen resulted. 

The kids and I enjoyed devouring it during a front yard camp out.  Yum!Luke eating steamed zucchini breadNina eating steamed zucchini bread

Please Note: The links below under “Categories” don’t work like those on most blogs.  They won’t take you to related posts in this blog.  So, if you are interested in related posts, please click on the links under “Categories” to the right instead of the ones below.  Sorry!  It’s a weird wordpress.com thing that I cannot seem to overcome.


Leave a comment

Categories